Members 2022-05-22T11:00:54+00:00

Rehearsals and Events

News


Rehearsals (see schedule below)

Rehearsals are held on Monday each week between 7.30pm and 9.30pm in St. John’s School, Ely.

Once a month there is a social group serving a variety of teas and coffees, as well as delicious home made cakes, in the staffroom at school. Members are welcome any time from 18:45 until the start of the rehearsal to join us to chat over tea/coffee and a cake – the drink and the cake are optional as long as you fancy a chat! Dates of these groups are listed in the rehearsal schedule to the right.

Some of the members also meet informally after practice and share a drink (and an optional sandwich) at the Prince Albert pub on Silver Street. Anyone from the Society is welcome to join that group as and when they can, no regular commitment is required.

There is also a rehearsal on the morning or afternoon on the day of each concert, again listed on the rehearsal schedule. Attendance on the day of the concert rehearsal with the orchestra is obligatory.

To ensure the highest quality of performance members should try to attend all rehearsals. For unavoidable absences you should inform a member of the committee of your absence. Members who have not attended sufficient rehearsals will not be permitted to sing in the concerts; anyone with any concerns over their ability to sing a specific concert based on attendance should speak to the conductor Andrew Parnell.

Summer Term Rehearsals 2022

The following are rehearsal dates for the Summer Term 2022.

APRIL 2022

Monday 25th April at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

MAY 2022

Monday 2nd May at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 9th May at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 16th May at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 23rd May at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 30th May No Rehearsal – Half Term

JUNE 2022

Monday 6th June at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 13th June at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 20th June at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 27th June at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

JULY 2022

Monday 4th July at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Sunday 10th July ‘A Summer Serenade’

 – Rehearsal: 1.00 pm in the Hayward Theatre.

 – Concert: 6:00 pm in the Hayward Theatre.

Monday 11th July at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm

Monday 18th July at St John’s School, Ely at 7:30 pm